Unreal Media Server Forum Index Unreal Media Server
ATTENTION! THIS FORUM IS READ ONLY AS OF SEPTEMBER 1 2009.

PLEASE POST QUESTIONS TO OUR NEW FORUM
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Black Box were the video should be...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unreal Media Server Forum Index -> Live applications
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bstermer



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 1:34 am    Post subject: Black Box were the video should be... Reply with quote

We have a production Ureal live server with 219 IP cameras defined using IPCamSourceVideo, no problems. Adding additional cameras to the production server only shows a black box with a thin line at the top that changes as the JPEG image changes. The full JPEG image is not shown in the Video Parms preview box or from the Media server out to te web page.

Adding the cameras on a test server with less cameras shows the images properly. CPU untilization on the production server is one to two percent and memory utilization is low. The snapshot URL JPEG image from the JVC VN-C215 camera can be viewed in both IE and Netscape without any issues on the production server as does the supplied viewer in the camera's onboard web page. Total number of IP cameras defined to the production server is now 250 with 220 to 250 showing a black box. Updating IPCamSourceVideo to latest version did not resolve the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Adding additional cameras to the production server only shows a black box with a thin line at the top that changes as the JPEG image changes. The full JPEG image is not shown in the Video Parms preview box or from the Media server out to te web page


Are you sure you add additional cameras correctly?
You should be able to have up to 255 live sources on a single Live Server,
so number 220 should go OK.

What if you add source # 220 identical as 219?
I still suspect cameras 220-250 are just entered incorrectly; may be they are unaccessible from production server but accessible from test server?

Admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bstermer



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the cameras have been added correctly and the server has access to the cameras. The IPCAM init string was tested on the test server using the preview box and then the init string was cut and pasted into the production box but the preview did not work. we are able to see the cameras using IE from the server with no troubles, they just will not preview or stream properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if you save file "ULiveMediaGrabber.config" (in the installation forlder of live server) aside - just cut it form there and paste somewhere else.

Then restart config program. No live sources should appear - empty config.

Add these cameras now. Do they work?

Admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bstermer



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, same error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, what do we conclude?

It's not a problem of "number 220-250".
These cameras just don't work with IPCamSourceVideo on this particular computer - I know they do on your test computer, but not on this.

Can you see them in Windows Media Player on this computer?

Admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bstermer



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, they work fine using Windows Media Player 10 with the IPCAM init string.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 488

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So even preview in Live Config doesn't work?
But same init string works in WMP?

Very strange indeed. Sounds like MJPEG decoder problem.
What JPEG image size do these cameras provide?
Do you have any bundled codec packs installed on the is computer?

Admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bstermer



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The cameras are Axis model 206M and JVC model VN-C215 at 640x480.

Changing the resolution to 640x360 on the Axis devices has fixed their problem. Still working on the JVC cams....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unreal Media Server Forum Index -> Live applications All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2.0.6 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group